LaptopVideo2Go Forums

NVIDIA® GeForce� 8400M GS drivers for Windows XP

thunderhead

Hi all,

I have recently placed an order for the Dell XPS M1330 notebook.

It is going to ship with Windows Vista Home Premium and the NVIDIA® GeForce? 8400M GS 128 MB video card. I will have to remove Vista and install Windows XP Professional with SP2 on the laptop because I will be using it for academic purposes, and my university has complete support only for the latter.

I was looking for a 32 bit Windows XP driver for my video card. The closest I can find is the NVIDIA drivers for the NVIDIA® GeForce? 8400 GS (without the M) [Link: Here].

So my queries are:

1.) Is that driver sufficient as a substitute (I am willing to take an acceptable performance hit)?.

2.) If there is a mod available here, could you please guide me on how to download and install it (I am a complete novice to rigging and modding :) ).

Thanks for your help in advance.

That is a desktop driver, it has to be modified to properly function on your laptop card(s).

Read this topic.

http://forums.laptopvideo2go.com/index.php?showtopic=8128

Now you can find the 162.18 driver here on these forums and extract the driver, replace the INF with our modified one, and then install the driver. (read the FAQ section pinned topics)

Repeat as necessary till you find a nice working/fast/good quality driver.

If that or another driver works well, please tell us about it here.

http://forums.laptopvideo2go.com/index....showtopic=14343

As this topic gets some more posts somebody with the same graphics card is bound to test some drivers and post feedback as well.

You should know that the latest drivers are not always the best to use, although with an 8 series card you will probably be exclusively using 1xx.xx drivers or higher.

Hey,

Thanks for your reply. I will try out the same ASAP and get back. Hopefully it'll work smoothly.

Meanwhile, I just want to ask the following: