LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Black screen when I try running/launching Crysis. Please help!

BDron

Hello.

I just bought Crysis, installed it, and after having a Hell of a time trying to locate it, found the Electronic Arts folder in Program Files. I went into the Bin32 folder, found the exec file and launched the game. Unfortunately, all I got was a black screen with no other activity. I ran task manager and it told me the program stopped working. I'm in trouble deep here. I was psyched to play this game 'cuz I think my notebook can run it, but now I'm not so sure. I'm not too tech savvy. I will add this, if it helps:

I have an Asus G2S-B1, which as I understand should be able to handle the game, albeit not at maximum settings.

I have Vista (32-bit).

I have an NVIDIA 8600GT 256 card, and I recently updated the driver (from this site) from 101.34 to 163.67 (because Gears of War asked me to upgrade to 163.44 but that wasn't available).

Did I mess up?

Anyone else having this problem?

Will downloading the 169.09 driver help?

I'm both sad and confused. Any help would be greatly, greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

If the game didn't install a desktop icon it might not have finished installing. (unless you told it not to)

I would recommend that you go ahead and upgrade to 169.09, it also should run GOW well (since UT3 runs good on it too).

With a single 8600 GT you can probably play the game with around medium settings, possibly. You might want to look up the custom tweaks online.

You can make a config.cfg file in the game's folder that will automatically run configuration commands at startup.

Thanks so much for the reply and the advice!

So, I uninstalled and reinstalled, and updated my NVIDIA driver to 169.09. When I launched the game this time, I got this message:

"Conflict with Emulation Software detected."

Do you know what that means?

'Cuz the install appeared to go well, but then again, I can't play the game now and there isn't even a black screen.