Jump to content


- - - - -

Hdmi stopped working after driver update


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_SirHumpsalot_*

Guest_SirHumpsalot_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 April 2009 - 04:47 AM

Hi, I constantly visit lv2g and update my driver frequently, I especially love dox's drivers. After the recent dox's release (185.68) I update my driver as usual but after the update my hdmi port stoped working, I checked the cable and the TV (toshiba hdtv) with another computer and it worked perfectly, I uninstalled the drivers and used driver sweeper, I tried every existing driver including the oem's drivers but with no avail, I even downgraded my bios but no luck either. When I look at the nvidia control panel it recognizes my tv as a toshiba tv and I can adujst the setting but nothing comes up on the tv (not in clone mode nor dualview).
I have an hp hdx16 with geforce 9600m gt 512ddr2. everything worked great 2 days ago. I really hope my hdmi port is not fried or something like this, I looked everywhere on this forum and net and I haven't find any solution.
ould Your help wbe greatly appreciated. Thanks in advanced

#2 zipper

zipper

    Banned for farting

  • Moderator
  • 3,164 posts
  • Country:Finland

  • Brand:MSI
  • Model:GT70 GTX 680M (+G51J GTX 260M)
  • Resolution:1920x1080 (HD 1080)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • SUBSYS:10BC1462
  • Operating System:Win7 Home Premium x64

Posted 14 April 2009 - 09:16 AM

Have you checked in clone mode what frequencies you have to choose from when on 720p mode (1280x720). I have had problems with some drivers that offer just 62 Hz to my TV, which gives just black screen. Another problem was a bad cable which didn't work at 1080p, which was the default and sometimes pretty difficult to force to stay on 1080i. Dox 185.68 is okay for me, lots of HDMI modes to choose from.

#3 Sir_Humpsalot

Sir_Humpsalot

    Novice

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Country:Israel

  • Brand:HP
  • Model:hdx 16
  • Resolution:1366x768 (WXGA)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • SUBSYS:361B103C
  • Operating System:Win7 Ultimate x64

Posted 14 April 2009 - 09:27 AM

thanks for your reply, I tried every combination of refresh rate and resolution but still no signal, the nvidia control panel recognizes my tv and the native resulotion and refresh rate, I used this cable two days ago and it worked fine with 1080p. I'm quit sure it's something in my laptop because I tried connecting another computer with the same cable tv and setting and everything was ok.
any other thoughts?

#4 zipper

zipper

    Banned for farting

  • Moderator
  • 3,164 posts
  • Country:Finland

  • Brand:MSI
  • Model:GT70 GTX 680M (+G51J GTX 260M)
  • Resolution:1920x1080 (HD 1080)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • SUBSYS:10BC1462
  • Operating System:Win7 Home Premium x64

Posted 14 April 2009 - 11:37 AM

Testing if the cable/tv combination works is easy - just restart the computer and Fn/F4 during the boot process - the output should jump to your TV on 720p until the GFX driver is loaded. Then your TV turns black if the driver doesn't work.

#5 Sir_Humpsalot

Sir_Humpsalot

    Novice

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Country:Israel

  • Brand:HP
  • Model:hdx 16
  • Resolution:1366x768 (WXGA)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • SUBSYS:361B103C
  • Operating System:Win7 Ultimate x64

Posted 14 April 2009 - 12:05 PM

Again thanks for the reply, The cable\tv combination is fine, it worked two days ago with my laptop and it works fine with another pc so I suspect the problem is with the hdmi port, although the laptop recognizes that it's connected to toshiba hdtv there is no signal on tv. Also the nvidia control panel marks the equipment as hdcp capable so everything should work, but it doesn't.
I really hope that the problem is software related and not hardware

#6 zipper

zipper

    Banned for farting

  • Moderator
  • 3,164 posts
  • Country:Finland

  • Brand:MSI
  • Model:GT70 GTX 680M (+G51J GTX 260M)
  • Resolution:1920x1080 (HD 1080)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • SUBSYS:10BC1462
  • Operating System:Win7 Home Premium x64

Posted 14 April 2009 - 02:03 PM

If the port is working, you should have picture after starting the computer when Fn/f4'ing until the GFX driver starts to load - it's the first thing to check eliminating hardware error.

#7 Sir_Humpsalot

Sir_Humpsalot

    Novice

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Country:Israel

  • Brand:HP
  • Model:hdx 16
  • Resolution:1366x768 (WXGA)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • SUBSYS:361B103C
  • Operating System:Win7 Ultimate x64

Posted 14 April 2009 - 02:21 PM

I tried fn+f4 while the computer start and after then my laptop monitor becomes black but no picture on the tv, like I said before, the laptop acts like it's sending out signal through the hdmi port but nothing really comes out on the tv, I tried it on 3 different lcd televisions and nothing seem to work

#8 zipper

zipper

    Banned for farting

  • Moderator
  • 3,164 posts
  • Country:Finland

  • Brand:MSI
  • Model:GT70 GTX 680M (+G51J GTX 260M)
  • Resolution:1920x1080 (HD 1080)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • SUBSYS:10BC1462
  • Operating System:Win7 Home Premium x64

Posted 15 April 2009 - 02:52 AM

I tried fn+f4 while the computer start and after then my laptop monitor becomes black but no picture on the tv, like I said before, the laptop acts like it's sending out signal through the hdmi port but nothing really comes out on the tv, I tried it on 3 different lcd televisions and nothing seem to work

Sounds like hardware problem on the computer if the TV+cable works with another computer :)

#9 Sir_Humpsalot

Sir_Humpsalot

    Novice

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Country:Israel

  • Brand:HP
  • Model:hdx 16
  • Resolution:1366x768 (WXGA)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • SUBSYS:361B103C
  • Operating System:Win7 Ultimate x64

Posted 15 April 2009 - 04:15 AM

That's what I'm afraid of, I just want to rule out any software problem before I turn the finger of blame towards the hardware/

#10 zipper

zipper

    Banned for farting

  • Moderator
  • 3,164 posts
  • Country:Finland

  • Brand:MSI
  • Model:GT70 GTX 680M (+G51J GTX 260M)
  • Resolution:1920x1080 (HD 1080)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • SUBSYS:10BC1462
  • Operating System:Win7 Home Premium x64

Posted 15 April 2009 - 10:16 AM

Drivers found to have working HDMI on my HP/Compaq:
174.70, 176.68, 176.92, 179.28, 179.32, 179.48, 185.20 (and 185.65, .68).

#11 Sir_Humpsalot

Sir_Humpsalot

    Novice

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Country:Israel

  • Brand:HP
  • Model:hdx 16
  • Resolution:1366x768 (WXGA)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • SUBSYS:361B103C
  • Operating System:Win7 Ultimate x64

Posted 15 April 2009 - 02:11 PM

I tried these drivers but still no luck. Actually 3 days ago the hdmi worked with every drivers annd suddenly there no output, maybe it's a faulty hdmi port

#12 zipper

zipper

    Banned for farting

  • Moderator
  • 3,164 posts
  • Country:Finland

  • Brand:MSI
  • Model:GT70 GTX 680M (+G51J GTX 260M)
  • Resolution:1920x1080 (HD 1080)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • SUBSYS:10BC1462
  • Operating System:Win7 Home Premium x64

Posted 16 April 2009 - 01:19 AM

Most probably :)

#13 Sir_Humpsalot

Sir_Humpsalot

    Novice

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Country:Israel

  • Brand:HP
  • Model:hdx 16
  • Resolution:1366x768 (WXGA)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • SUBSYS:361B103C
  • Operating System:Win7 Ultimate x64

Posted 16 April 2009 - 12:38 PM

I think the port was damaged during a bios upgrade, I'm sending the laptop back to hp, let them figure it out

#14 Guest_npnm_*

Guest_npnm_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 April 2009 - 05:04 AM

i have the same problem when i update de software of my nvidea... i resolve it with the original driver who comes with my computer when i buy it... this is a problem not from hardware but from the update...

#15 Bluebutterfly

Bluebutterfly

    Beginner

  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Country:United Kingdom

  • Brand:Sony
  • Model:Sony Vaio VGN-FZ21S
  • Resolution:1280x800 (WXGA)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • Operating System:Nothing Selected

Posted 28 June 2009 - 05:18 AM

I have the same problem but it only happens with my Toshiba 32 Regza and works with my Samsung tv. Used to work with my Toshiba but then my 8600M GS fried and had to be replaced, since then no matter what drivers I use I can only get hdmi connection with the samsung tv and can't get it on any resolution/driver combination with the toshiba tv. Any ideas? Thanks.

#16 Guest_Blietzer_*

Guest_Blietzer_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 August 2009 - 08:48 PM

Same thing on my Asus... have you heard of Ntune? I read that it might help

#17 mariner

mariner

    Novice

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Country:Singapore

  • Brand:Acer
  • Model:5920g
  • Resolution:1280x800 (WXGA)
  • Video Card:(0407) GeForce 8600M GT
  • Operating System:Nothing Selected

Posted 03 August 2009 - 08:22 AM

Same problem with 186.31 driver. see post for description of symtom.

http://forums.laptop...rade-to-186-31/

#18 Guest_james_*

Guest_james_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 January 2010 - 02:24 PM

i have the same problem, it works well with my sony and vizio tvs but not with my toshiba regza