Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Video Overlay Problem


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#1 sn0wl

sn0wl

    Dominating Member

  • Moderator
  • 1,930 posts
  • Country:Turkey

  • Brand:Toshiba
  • Model:Satellite 5200-902
  • Resolution:1600x1200 (UXGA)
  • Video Card:(031A) GeForce FX Go 5600
  • SUBSYS:11179
  • Operating System:XP Pro SP3

Posted 25 March 2006 - 06:56 AM

If you are having troubles with video after 71.89 drivers, read on.

Normally you should be getting video with VMR (no overlay) and without VMR (overlay). However in some computers VMR does not work the way it should be. There are graphical problems like diagonal lines and choppy/poor video quality. If you disable VMR in nVidia control panel this time you see blank black screen. This fix 'should' enable overlay layer again. Users reported this also fixes overlay creation problems with WinDVD and Avid programs. Please give feedback if it works.

To fix the problem, you can use Enhancer or apply it manually by finding these lines in INF and changing them accordingly;

HKR,, OverlayMode2, %REG_BINARY%, 50,00,10,00
HKR,, OverlayMode3, %REG_BINARY%, 01,05,40,01
HKR,, OverlayMode4, %REG_BINARY%, 00,00,00,00


After saving, install your driver and restart your computer. I hope this works for you as it did for my Toshiba Satellite 5200-902 with GeForce FX 5600Go.

If you want to try the fix on-the-fly, use the pre-modded INF attached below with Forceware 84.25. If you don't know how to install, you can check Posted ImageForceware Updater's Quickstart Guide.

Attached Files



#2 Jeroen

Jeroen

    Expert

  • Retired Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 367 posts
  • Country:Belgium

  • Brand:Apple
  • Model:MacBook Pro
  • Resolution:1280x800 (WXGA)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • Operating System:MAC OS X

Posted 25 March 2006 - 10:55 AM

What does it exactly do?

Does it FIX the problem and let you have good quality movie watching with VMR ENABLED, or does it let you watch movies again with VMR DISABLED ?

thanks anyway!

Jeroen.

Edited by Jeroen, 25 March 2006 - 10:55 AM.


#3 sn0wl

sn0wl

    Dominating Member

  • Moderator
  • 1,930 posts
  • Country:Turkey

  • Brand:Toshiba
  • Model:Satellite 5200-902
  • Resolution:1600x1200 (UXGA)
  • Video Card:(031A) GeForce FX Go 5600
  • SUBSYS:11179
  • Operating System:XP Pro SP3

Posted 25 March 2006 - 10:59 AM

It enables overlay layer if it cannot be seen. This should have no effect on VMR. Do you have the problem?

#4 Jeroen

Jeroen

    Expert

  • Retired Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 367 posts
  • Country:Belgium

  • Brand:Apple
  • Model:MacBook Pro
  • Resolution:1280x800 (WXGA)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • Operating System:MAC OS X

Posted 25 March 2006 - 11:55 AM

I'm having choppy playback on Divx movies and stuff, but not on dvd's, but I haven't got hardware acceleration enabled in powerdvd (I just checked it now, I thought it was!)

I will test your settings and let you know if it works!

maybe it's good to mention that I'm having the most problems when I watch movies on my TV-out, so it could be that those settings won't fix it for me, as my laptop has some strage tv-out stuff :)

ps: i will also test to enable dvd acceleration in powerdvd and see what it gives

#5 sn0wl

sn0wl

    Dominating Member

  • Moderator
  • 1,930 posts
  • Country:Turkey

  • Brand:Toshiba
  • Model:Satellite 5200-902
  • Resolution:1600x1200 (UXGA)
  • Video Card:(031A) GeForce FX Go 5600
  • SUBSYS:11179
  • Operating System:XP Pro SP3

Posted 25 March 2006 - 12:04 PM

I don't know about DVD playback. In which settings your divx movies play poor? Which player? VMR enabled? Anyway like I told you this fix should only enable video if it gives blank screen when VMR is disabled.

#6 Jeroen

Jeroen

    Expert

  • Retired Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 367 posts
  • Country:Belgium

  • Brand:Apple
  • Model:MacBook Pro
  • Resolution:1280x800 (WXGA)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • Operating System:MAC OS X

Posted 25 March 2006 - 12:18 PM

Sorry, I must have missunderstand you.

This is what I'm getting:

Playing DivX movies (propably others too, I don't know for sure) with BSPlayer. VMR is enabled in the nvidia CP, I have it disabled in BSPlayer (if enabled, subtitles won't be shown). I'm having choppy video playback (verry good visible when watching a DivX on my TV). I hadn't got that with drivers before 71.89 I think (don't know for sure), I certainly know I hadn't got it with any 6x.xx drivers or the original ones.

at the moment, I'm running on 84.21, but I didn't watch any DivX on my tv last time, only a DVD yesterday, and I noticed that the quality was good, and it didn't hang!

normally I don't watch dvd's with my laptop on tv, so I don't know if I had this with other drivers.

#7 sn0wl

sn0wl

    Dominating Member

  • Moderator
  • 1,930 posts
  • Country:Turkey

  • Brand:Toshiba
  • Model:Satellite 5200-902
  • Resolution:1600x1200 (UXGA)
  • Video Card:(031A) GeForce FX Go 5600
  • SUBSYS:11179
  • Operating System:XP Pro SP3

Posted 25 March 2006 - 12:32 PM

Okay try this and see if it fixes your poor divx quality problems: use the tweak above and install your drivers again, disable VMR both in nVidia control panel and BS player. I'm looking forward to hear your results.

#8 Jeroen

Jeroen

    Expert

  • Retired Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 367 posts
  • Country:Belgium

  • Brand:Apple
  • Model:MacBook Pro
  • Resolution:1280x800 (WXGA)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • Operating System:MAC OS X

Posted 26 March 2006 - 09:59 AM

Yeah, I'm planning to do that in some days, but I haven't got much time at the moment, have lots of work to do for school, but in a week the holidays are there :)

#9 smax

smax

    Resident Mac Guy

  • Retired Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 668 posts
  • Country:United States

  • Brand:Apple
  • Model:MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo 2.2GHz
  • Resolution:1440x900 (WXGA/WXGA+/WSXGA)
  • Video Card:(0407) GeForce 8600M GT
  • SUBSYS:00A0106B
  • Operating System:MAC OS X

Posted 27 March 2006 - 04:35 PM

The fix worked well for me, now I'm just puzzled as to why VMR doesn't work at all for me. People say they have bad quality with VMR turned on... I have NO quality when it's on.

#10 knightfan40

knightfan40

    Beginner

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Country:Netherlands

  • Brand:Toshiba
  • Model:Qosmio F10
  • Resolution:1280x800 (WXGA)
  • Operating System:XP MCE 2005

Posted 03 April 2006 - 04:26 PM

WOW, you're my hero!!
Finally I can watch movies without that stupid VMR-function on!
Now I can finally use the terrific Nvidia Purevideo codecs in media player, and use Dscaler!!

Thnx,thnx!!!

#11 LSudlow

LSudlow

    Grand Guru / Talks too much

  • Moderator
  • 2,764 posts
  • Country:United States

  • Brand:Dell
  • Model:XPS 15
  • Resolution:1366x768 (WXGA)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • SUBSYS:PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0DF5&SUBSYS_04B61028&REV_A1
  • Operating System:Win7 Home Premium x64

Posted 03 April 2006 - 06:15 PM

One possiblity: Check to be sure you have FastWrites enabled. VMR requires it to be enabled or you'll have horrible lag.

#12 sn0wl

sn0wl

    Dominating Member

  • Moderator
  • 1,930 posts
  • Country:Turkey

  • Brand:Toshiba
  • Model:Satellite 5200-902
  • Resolution:1600x1200 (UXGA)
  • Video Card:(031A) GeForce FX Go 5600
  • SUBSYS:11179
  • Operating System:XP Pro SP3

Posted 04 April 2006 - 03:00 AM

It's already enabled here but makes no difference. In fact I can't disable it, changes back to enabled state :)

#13 Jeroen

Jeroen

    Expert

  • Retired Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 367 posts
  • Country:Belgium

  • Brand:Apple
  • Model:MacBook Pro
  • Resolution:1280x800 (WXGA)
  • Video Card:NVIDIA Card N/A
  • Operating System:MAC OS X

Posted 07 April 2006 - 08:08 AM

Hi, I'm back from holiday now!

I've tested it and it works!!

The quality improvement is really great! (it's like it should be now, and like it was before VMR was used :) )

I haven't got any choppy playback, and also the quality of divx movies is fine again. For example: before this fix, the black in divx movies was grey, and the colors weren't really realistic, where they are again now!

thanks!

I will add this to my inf for the medion md41300 :)

#14 Guest_Markeyp_*

Guest_Markeyp_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 April 2006 - 10:12 AM

If you are having troubles with video after 71.89 drivers, read on.

Normally you should be getting video with VMR (no overlay) and without VMR (overlay). However in some computers VMR does not work the way it should be. There are graphical problems like diagonal lines in and choppy/poor quality. If you disable VMR in nVidia control panel this time you see blank black screen. This fix 'should' enable overlay layer again. Please give feedback if it works.

To fix the problem, find these lines in INF and change them accordingly;


I have a Sony FE590P with the NVIDIA GeForce GO7400 Driver Version 8.3.2.0, 12/15/2005. I updated the driver following the instuctions on this forum but the driver date still says 12/15/2005, not 3/12/06. But I do have access to both new and old control panels now, so it did change something. Should I update to Forceware 84.25. I seem to have the same problem described here. I did a semi system recovery and reinstalled all the factory drivers. Now when I try to play a DVD using WinDVD or window media player I get the error "Create overlay failed. Please lower your screen resolution or color depth and try again." Also the screen is black but it plays audio. I can play a DVD using PowerDVD player though. I tried unchecking the Enable VMR switch. But that did nothing. Any suggestions?

#15 sn0wl

sn0wl

    Dominating Member

  • Moderator
  • 1,930 posts
  • Country:Turkey

  • Brand:Toshiba
  • Model:Satellite 5200-902
  • Resolution:1600x1200 (UXGA)
  • Video Card:(031A) GeForce FX Go 5600
  • SUBSYS:11179
  • Operating System:XP Pro SP3

Posted 08 April 2006 - 10:25 AM

Yes, first read Posted ImageForceware Updater's Quickstart Guide to be exactly sure you are doing the update correct. For quick information, download 84.25 driver and INF file attached in the first topic of this thread, extract 8425.exe and put the INF file in extracted folder overwriting the old one, then launch setup in the folder. Restart your system and see if it fixes overlay problem.

#16 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 April 2006 - 11:25 AM

You are a genius! I used your updated driver 84.25 and INF file and now my DVD player works great. No more overlay problems. Works with WinDVD, Windows Media Player, InterActual, etc... Thank you so much! So should I leave VMR switch off all the time? :)

#17 sn0wl

sn0wl

    Dominating Member

  • Moderator
  • 1,930 posts
  • Country:Turkey

  • Brand:Toshiba
  • Model:Satellite 5200-902
  • Resolution:1600x1200 (UXGA)
  • Video Card:(031A) GeForce FX Go 5600
  • SUBSYS:11179
  • Operating System:XP Pro SP3

Posted 08 April 2006 - 11:34 AM

Yeah you can leave it as it is or try switching whenever you want to. You are welcome, I'm glad it worked ^_^

#18 duo2400

duo2400

    Beginner

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Country:United States

  • Brand:Sony
  • Model:duo2400
  • Resolution:Nothing Selected
  • Operating System:XP Pro SP2

Posted 14 April 2006 - 12:58 PM

Hello, I was wondering if anyone was able to get any of the drivers to work on a sony SZ120P Duo with Avid Xpress Pro? I have tried the the inf hacks on this post and none of them are alowing the Avid to use the video overlay. However the overlay is working just fine in windows media player with vrm enabled or disabled.

Is there a certain thing that needs to be done to the inf to make it work with the sony laptops? I understand the hacked inf is working on the hp laptops with the same video card but for some reason no luck on my sony.

The sony has a ton of rediculous redundant software that came with it. I was thinking maybe one of those programs is causing a conflict with the avid software?

My current setup is

Sony SZ120P
T2400 Duo 1.86
Nvidia 7400 go 128
1 gig ram
Windows XP SP2
Avid Xpress 5.2.0
Current Nvidia Force Ware version 84.21 I have also tried 84.25, 84.12, 81.94, I also tut Iried the hacked 77.77 but I get nothing but a blue screen on start up and constent reboots until I choose safe mode etc..

Any help on this matter for this particular laptop would be most appriciated! I figure if anyone can help this is the place.

I am willing to try any driver or any solution that someone thinks will work.

Thanks!

#19 sn0wl

sn0wl

    Dominating Member

  • Moderator
  • 1,930 posts
  • Country:Turkey

  • Brand:Toshiba
  • Model:Satellite 5200-902
  • Resolution:1600x1200 (UXGA)
  • Video Card:(031A) GeForce FX Go 5600
  • SUBSYS:11179
  • Operating System:XP Pro SP3

Posted 14 April 2006 - 03:43 PM

Well replying to this topic, I assume you already downloaded modded INF in THIS thread which when opened, title states "; Pieter's INF version 31.53 including Overlay Fix". Maybe you did something wrong if you tried to change INF yourself. And you are sure on your installation process? Uninstall any nVidia drivers (add/remove programs) and reinstall, carefully reading installation part of the Posted ImageForceware Updater's Quickstart Guide and see if you are OK this time.

Sorry I have nothing else I can think of right now.

#20 Guest_nexus7_*

Guest_nexus7_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 April 2006 - 04:26 AM

I have the exact same problem wth Avid 5.2.4

with Vaio T2300 Duo 1.66 and go7400 Avid does not work. I tried every possible driver combination plese someone help : )