LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Overclocking 8700M GT 512MB card

Guest Tiack2

Guest Tiack2

Hello all. I just wanted to know if overclocking a laptop video card is very difficult. I've never done it before, so ive no idea what is involved. Or is it even worth overclocking the 8700M GT...will I really get a noticeable difference in gaming if this card is overclocked? If not I will just stick with updating the drivers every few weeks. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks :)

Hi guys, there is no problem in overclocking these video cards. I've got the 8700m 256MB and overclocked it till 750/1020 Mhz (core and memory) using riva tuner. My based score is 5200 and when overclocked i can go up to 6200 at 3dmark06.

I was using the 169.09 drivers and it worked well.

Let me know about what you get to do.

Cojy

Hi guys, there is no problem in overclocking these video cards. I've got the 8700m 256MB and overclocked it till 750/1020 Mhz (core and memory) using riva tuner. My based score is 5200 and when overclocked i can go up to 6200 at 3dmark06.

I was using the 169.09 drivers and it worked well.

Let me know about what you get to do.

Cojy

-Can you give us some tips or get us started on overclocking them...because I have never done it before and I am not sure how much to overclock it and when to stop, or if I have to watch out for the temperature either. :) Also, are there different tools to do this with, or one that is best to use? :) (maybe for overclocking beginners). Thanks for any help! :P

As I said, i've been using riva tuner, in the "main" tab in driver settings, customize you can open the system settings where you will be able to oc your card. I advise you to oc the memory and then the core clock (and shadder in the same time, they are linked, do not unlink them). You can oc the memory till 975Mhz without any pb. Then normally the oc is made increasing by 10Mhz the frequencies of the core clock, but as i said you can go up to 750Mhz.