LaptopVideo2Go Forums

ATTENTION! 8000 series cards- blue/black screen errors-ANY SETUP

Guest wild willy

Guest wild willy

HI ALL-

My last and final thread to you- sorry to invade the place lately.

FOR ALL OF YOU WHO HAVE BLUE/BLACK SCREEN ERRORS, TDS ERRORS ON VISTA, OR SIMILIAR PROBLEMS PLEASE READ-

I am no computer expert, so take this with a grain of salt- don't jump off a cliff just on my opinion- but I do feel that it is an educated one at this point. I may not be a computer expert, but I am a smart guy, run very large construction projects and I make a living sorting out who's to blame on a jobsite when something goes wrong. Lots of trades involved with this problem- but I think I got to the bottom of it.

MY PROBLEM (if it sounds like yours read on)-

I have a 2 month old laptop that I play WoW on and use for work. One month ago a patch came out for wow, and I started getting "nvlddmkm driver has stopped responding and succesfully recovered". I was able to uninstall my driver, do a vista system restore to 1 week prior to the problem (i thought wow's patch was the problem) and then dump wow, new patch and all back onto my hard drive from my external, and reinstall my driver from HP. I was back in buisiness- no more error.

Fast forward one month- new WoW patch (still thought that was the problem) and the error is back. New drivers, sweepers, restore, uninstall, reinstall, pull out memory, swap memory, ect. No resolution. Found this site- was directed here by HP and Blizzard btw so Kudos to you guys. But the error cannot be fixed again.

SYMPTOMS-(to ensure that you have this problem and not another)

At some point you have run a graphics intensive program (game, design software, dvd player, ect) you need to have run something that caused your card to "work" a little. Can't get a heart attack sitting on the couch so to speak.

If you are in vista- you got a TDS error- "XXXXXXX driver has failed and recovered succesfully"