LaptopVideo2Go Forums

system crash while gaming

robocop

hi all!

i'm a newbie here!

i've an asus a6jm-ap019h (t2500, 1 GB RAM, go 7600 512 MB) since last monday and with the nvidia drivers that i've found installed (83.90) the system was crashing during gaming sessions (games were rfactor and f1 challenge). so i've installed the latest official display driver (84.26) available on the asus website but the results are the same...

even 3dmark2005 doesn't finish without the crash!

then i've installed the version 91.33 with modded inf, downloaded form this site, and 3dmark2005 has finally take to the finish his tests (score is 3886) but the problem is showing again with the same games.

it's a driver problem or a temperature problem?

i monitor the temps with notebook hardware control and they have always been under control until now

Edited by robocop

It's possible that it's not driver related... the ambient temperature might be a little too high so your laptop cooling system is not able to prevent overheating.

During those nasty hot summer days if I don't turn the air conditionning on the room temp raise to 30°C opposed to something in the 18-20°C during winter. The temperature response is not linear but if you raise the room temp by 10°C you are likely to see a similar raise in your system.

You might want to downclock your GPU a bit so it doesn't overheat during summer.

It's possible that it's not driver related... the ambient temperature might be a little too high so your laptop cooling system is not able to prevent overheating.

During those nasty hot summer days if I don't turn the air conditionning on the room temp raise to 30°C opposed to something in the 18-20°C during winter. The temperature response is not linear but if you raise the room temp by 10°C you are likely to see a similar raise in your system.

You might want to downclock your GPU a bit so it doesn't overheat during summer.