LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Couter Strike Source slow after new install

Guest Hypercite

Guest Hypercite

Hey all!

Ive been having some trouble with my video card.

Ive had this laptop for over a year now and its been working great.

Allthough about two weeks ago I formated it and I have been installing fresh operating system and software on it now for some days.

But when I tried to run Counter strike: Source the fps had droped from a steady 50fps to below 20fps.

Not fun! :)

So now I have been buting my arse of finding new stuff and drivers to clean the computer and all that s*** but nothing happens.

So I found this great place :)

Now I am wondering a few things since I am very new to tweaking my system and increasing its performance.

Some quotes and questions:

"I have flashed GeForce with 39.60 rom and it went without a problem (this is a must for any Amilo 3438 / 4438 owner)."

What does this mean and how do I do it?

"Or you might have vsync set to on in control panel. Set it to application preference in order to achieve best performance."

Same again, what does that mean and how do I do it?

"Amilo M3438G, 1,73GHz/512MB upgraded to x1800 (stock settings)"

What does the last part mean (upgraded to x1800)?

There is so much that I dont know how to do and I dont know what is wrong.

Sorry for my incompetense...itas hard beeing a nebie.

So to all you AmiloM3438G users here...

What did you do to upgrade you laptop?

And how do you do that? :P

Hyper

With all the people flashing their VBIOS... I only see a couple of them knowing what they do. Pieter is one of them... so there are few spots left. I'm :) by newbies flashing VBIOS even before they start to think.

1- Don't flash the VBIOS... it used to work OK so keep this option as last resort / backup plan / *pick a name*.

2- VSync gives a non tearing image at the expense of frame rate. You have to check that it's off in both the GeForce control panel and the game.