LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Problems with GO 7300 turbocache, how much RAM can i use?

T.K

:) Hi all, im a relative noob to laptops so any help would be greatly appreciated.

My laptop is an Acer Aspire 5630 with intel duo 1.83GHz processor, 2GB of DDR2 RAM and - the problem - a Geforce GO 7300.

I have recently upgraded to Vista home premium (free upgrade - i wouldntve paid for it!) since then, whenever i try and access the nvidia control panel, i get the error message "Dev warning - Device database cannot be created! Deleting existing database" i then click OK and the control panel comes up with the options 3d settings and display settings, seemingly more limited then on XP. This isnt a problem in itself, but i have been trying to stop Battlefield 2 from stuttering so badly (It runs fine on my desktop 6600!!) and when i ran a test on System Requirements Lab, my laptop had everything for minimum, and everything for recommended EXCEPT, you guessed it Graphics card RAM.

It says i only have 130 ram which i understand is dedicated ram. However, the sticker on the front of the ###### thing says "GO 7300 with upto 256 ram" which is with the turbocache memory and in control panel it gives the summary:

Total graphics memory: 399mb

Dedicated memory: 128mb

System video memory: 0mb

Shared system memory: 271mb

My questions are:

WHY does it only read 130 ram on System Requirements Lab?

I cannot find any kind of control panel for the allocation of turbocache memory is this because my nvidia control panel is corrupted or is there no control panel?

i appreciate that the GO 7300 is no ferrari, but i just cant understand why it doesnt meet the recommended requirements for games that need 256 when according to Nvidia, it has upto 256, and according to control panel it has a total of 399!?! I cant see the point in turbocache if it doesnt help increase the graphics memory above the dedicated... :)

THANKYOU for reading that essay.... :P

Please help if you can!!!