LaptopVideo2Go Forums

XPS fans, need help!

ewh228

hey, first post, sorry if this should go somewhere else...

i've been having overheating issues/charger problems with my dell XPS m170 recently, and i recently downloaded i8kfanGUI, which tells me about my core temp, fans, etc. i can manually start my fans with it, and i noticed my first fan is significantly louder (and more powerful?) than the second. is this normal? could it be the root of my recent heating problems? and how would i go about fixing it if that were the case?

on another note, i can set the program to turn the fans on at certain temperatures. since i am fairly certain my computer doesn't have internal thermal meters other than a standard diode outside of the processor (i'm VERY new to this, so sorry if i'm inaccurate), should i set the fans to start sooner than normal, as an external diode would give a cooler reading?

thanks for your time, i appreciate it.

maybe this helps:

re. slowdowns with all games (esp. lost planet) SORTED!!!!

I am sure many of you know the following, but let me just remind you.