LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Alienware M9750

jawnee

Hello everyone ! To introduce myself i work in the games industry as an artist, and for such i have bought a laptop for home use , an alienware M 9750 with right now 4 gigs of ram ( im on XP so 3 are only used ) and core duo 2.2 Ghz , Graphic Card is Nvidia 7900 series GTx or something with 512 Gdram.

With the previous drivers before instaling the ones in laptopvideo2go in the game engine i was provided from a studio i had a constant stream of 60 , 59.10 FPS . But running call of duty 4 i run into some annoying freezes , so i instaled 160.28 from here and for some reason i notice a big drop in perfomance , the engine now has only 49.50 FPS constant , wich i lost 10 FPS . The 3d settings from nvidia are set to perfomance , so that means no anti aliasing no fancy stuff.

So my question is : is there any specific driver i need to install ? or did i screw up ? i want those 10 fps back hahahahh.

i tried searching for the same issues but couldnt find it so im sorry if i sound like a broken record :) thanks !

oh , and another thing, i read on another thread ( forgot to save it doh! ) that these new drivers make the graphic card work harder or it was declocked ? it is true that my laptop is heating up much more than usual after i isntalled them..and it was also cleaned like 3 weeks ago extensively :S please i really need some answers hehhehe. thank you guys !

The 169.28 drivers were designed to give a noticeable performance increase in UT3. They are also more stable than the other 169 drivers.

The earlier 169 drivers might be faster for you with that game. (like 169.09)

You could also try the other driver sets that have been released the past few weeks.

There is the 167.49 driver and the 156.87 driver.

Do you know if you have SLi in your system or just one 7950 GTX card installed?

Do you know if you have SLi in your system or just one 7950 GTX card installed?