LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Need some help here !

Jiangchen

My laptop is about 6 months old and for this past six months everything is fine even after I install other drivers from Laptop Video 2go.

I have been playing Call of Duty 4 online and single player for about 2 months or so, no over clock. I stop playing for about 2 months and when I start playing single player again recently it was still fine. After a few days the laptop starts to crash, with the screen occasionally flickering. I thought the newer driver is making the card too hot so I revert to older drivers. It seems to fix the problem for a while and it crashed again after 1 day or so.

It gets worse, I could not even go into windows vista, it stopped loading half way and left me with a blank black screen. So I went in safe mode, disable the card and to my surprise I could go into windows again. I tried enabling the card and sometimes it works and most of the time it does not.

I even tried formating the whole laptop and reinstall everything. A fresh install solved the problem for a few hours and eventually the graphic card crash again with original driver.

So my question is, is my laptop fried or something is wrong ? I have one crazy idea is that during the past six months the temperature was cold here in the UK. Recently it starts to get a lot hotter and thats when my Graphic card starts to show signs of crashing. However after trying to cool my laptop down with a cooler it did not solve the problem. I never did any over clock. Occasionally I will do some heavy Photoshop editing and Illustrator editing but I can't imagine them making my laptop too hot.

So again is it fried ? Thanks for any help given.

yes i had the same problems as you described. more so after sp1....

so i went back to windows xp and it solved the problem, but to my surprise it started happening again with xp.

I nailed it down to powermizer, if it enabled for somereason it would crash my gpu when i booted into a game.