LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Compaq Laptop Graphic Driver

Tjasko

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie here; but I do call myself a geek, so I'm not dumb.

I have a Compaq Presario F761us, and the graphics card is an NVIDIA GeForce 7000m / nForce 610m.

HP/Compaq has a real old driver (not that old; but there is a newer one I would like to use) at http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwar...093〈=en

NVIDIA driver is at: http://www.nvidia.com/object/winvista_x86_169.44.html

NVIDIA latest driver is: 169.44

HP/Compaq latest driver is (one I am using currently): 156.71 (found in GPU-Z)

That's quite a bit of an upgrade. I would like to be using the NVIDIA driver.

So, as it says in the guide, I need to install the modded INF file by using the "have disk" method. Which I did.

But here's the problem. No matter what INF file I try (that one is compatible with the 7000m), it gives me an error after a while.

It states the following:

________________________________________________________________________________

Windows encountered a problem installing the driver software for your device

Windows found driver software for your drivce but encountered an error while attempting to install it.

NVIDIA GeForce 7000m / nForce 610M

The system cannot find the file specified.

If you know the manufactured of your device, you can visit its website and check the support section for driver software.

________________________________________________________________________________

I would like to use a newer driver; and it seems to be that HP/Compaq is taking forever to release a new driver. And if I try to install any driver (off NVIDIA"S website, or download one from yours), I get this: "nVidia setup program could not locate any drivers that are compatible with your current hardware. Setup will now exit." *Because I need the modified INF file to install the driver update in order to not get this error.