LaptopVideo2Go Forums

8600m gs

Linus412

Hello. I have a 8600m gs videocard (512mb drr2), but i have low fps when playing games. like 15 fps in crysis on low details. How can i reach more fps with this card. plz help me.

greets

Linus

Edited by Linus412

that might be quite a struggle... crysis is very demanding.

you can try a driver change... maybe 177.79 or 174.74.

I have reverted back to 174.74 and will stick to it now until 180 series comes out.

next you can over clock the card and get maybe 4-6 FPS higher out of it.

Depending on what operating system you are running there are a few other tweaks you can try also.

Guest Shadow

Hi bro!Just downlaod 167.26 xp or vista drivers.Downlaod rivatuner.Than overclock to 660\1491\410!!!!And paly allmost games on max except crysis.You can combine it with medium high.Have problems write to my inbox-dubox777@inbox.lv

how do i overclock with rivatuner. im a noob in that kind of stuff. and would my laptop not be TO hot?

depends ho wmuch you overclock it, as to what temps you will get.

Riva tuner has some tabs. main/ settings/ power uers/ etc... ...

In the main tab there are adapter and driver setting.

Under 'driver settings' click 'customize', then the first setting which is 'system settings'

'enable driver-level hardware overclocking', then 'detect now'

Start at about 15% increase. example. if you core clock is 500 then set it at 575. Now you could probably go as high as 650 but i would not recomend overdoing it.

Under the adapter settings there is an option called 'hardware monitoring' (looks like a mem chip)

You can check out your temp settings using this feature.

but that in standard 2d

and when i overclock how do i turn the settings back when its not good?

and what should my temp be like? i have now 70 sometimes 80 when playing but mostly 73 wwhenplaying

Edited by Linus412

you have the following options: standard 2D/ low power 3D/ and Performance 3D.