LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Proper Driver for Gateway NX860XL 7900 GS Go

Guest James M.

Guest James M.

Sorry to sound like a noob, but I need to ask a few stupid questions so I don't ruin a friends laptop. I am trying to update the video driver for a Gateway NX860XL with an Nvidia 7900GS Go 256Mb chipset. The factory drivers are 18 months old (Feb07), and Gateway doesn't offer ANY updates for this (utterly ridiculous). It is running Vista Home Premiuim 32bit.

Now my stupid question is this... What do I need to do to use one of these more updated drivers? Do I need a modded inf file FIRST? or how do I go about this? I'm kind of new to the whole modded drivers thing so forgive my obvious ignorance. The unified driver for the 7900GS Go from the Nvidia site, will simply NOT install, as I get an error message saying no compatible hardware found (Gateway at it's proprietary best...UGH!) even though it is clearly identified as a 7900GS in Vista. All I want to do is get a STABLE updated driver into this thing to resolve some issues with Games crashing to desktop, without turning it into a brick, but I've had no luck with anything off the Nvidia site at all and I'm extremely frustrated...which is nothing new with a Gateway. Sorry, but I absolutely despise them now more than ever, as no updates for an Nvidia gaming class laptop is simply unforgivable.

Can someone point me on the path to getting this right?

depending on which game you will be playing will determin what driver you should install.

If they are new games, then similarly new drivers would be the best choice.

Because it is a series 7000 card, and does not have physX then the new 177 drivers with physX enabled will be a waste.

(unless they give better performance)

Everyone will have differeing views, and seeing as i dont have the same GPU as you, i might not give you the best advice on a "performance" driver. Never the less...

Try 175.63 - for me it has the best frame rate for games, of any other driver on here