LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Hmm Desktop vs. Laptop Drivers

Fatesadvent

Alright, I'm totally new to this but I managed to read the quick start guide and got my new driver installed and everything seems to be working. Problem is, I realized I installed the 178.13, which is for GeForce 8600 GT...NOT Geforce 8600M GT (the mobile one, which I have of course). Should everything be working and should I be scared for crashes? Should I uninstall and revert to my old one/another one (if so, which one would you suggest for stability and performance) or just keep this? I have a Dell 1520 with the 8600M GT as mentioned before (original driver version was around 158.something).

Also, what difference should I expect from updating from such an old driver to such a new one (I'm expecting quite a bit...should I be)? Each release doesn't really seem to say what if fixes or updates so I'm at a lost for this (besides looking benchmarks done by users on the forum). Try to avoid just redirecting me to a sticky (I've read quite a bit of those already), thanks in advance for any replies

I have a Vostro 1500, which is essentially the same as your laptop. I also have the latest drivers and the 8600m GT. You should not expect crashes. All of the drivers here support all of the released cards. Also, you should expect a noticeable performance improvement.

Oh, I think I just misunderstood. The listed compatible cards are the default video cards that dont need the modded inf but since I used the modded inf, it doesnt matter which card I have. Paniced for no reason. Anyone want to expand on the answer for the second part of my questions though (more than Michael already did)?