LaptopVideo2Go Forums

GTA IV - low performance on GTX 260

Guest void

Hello,

I have a little problem with the game GTA IV. I bought it a few days ago, but it doesn't work exactly as I supposed. When I ran the game for the first time, the default settings for my computer was: texture quality - high, rendering quality - high, view distance 32 (maximum is 100), detail distance 65 (max 100), shadows 10 (max 15). I ran the benchmark to check if i could play on the current settings. Average FPS was 37 so i thought - that's nice, i'm going to have fun and i started playing. Unfortunately, during the game, FPS is actually almost all time lower than 20, so the game isn't really playable (why does benchmark show average fps 37 if i didn't even see the similar number during the game).

So I set details to: medium/high, view distance 18, detail distance 40, shadows 0. This time benchmark gave result 47 fps, while in the game it still doesn't get higher than 34 fps (most of the time it is about 24-26). I don't know why do I get so low performance in the game. My computer is pretty good in my opinion, I have the latest drivers for my video card (180.48), I updated BIOS and drivers for the mainboard. I really can't find out where the the problem is.

Specification of my computer:

- Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3

- CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2,33Ghz @ 3,00 GHz (overclocked)

- Video card: Asus ENGTX260

- 4 x 1GB DDR2 Patriot

- Chieftec 450W

Benchmark results:

Statistics
Average FPS: 37.86
Duration: 37.19 sec
CPU Usage: 97%
System memory usage: 65%
Video memory usage: 88%

Graphics Settings
Video Mode: 1440 x 900 (60 Hz)
Texture Quality: High
Render Quality: High
View Distance: 32
Detail Distance: 65

Hardware
Microsoft® Windows Vista" Home Premium 
Service Pack 1
Video Adapter: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260
Video Driver version: 180.48
Audio Adapter: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU	 E6550  @ 2.33GHz

File ID: benchmark.cli

Statistics