LaptopVideo2Go Forums

What software do you use to optimize your computer?

Twisteds7

I am just wondering what software everyone uses to optimize and maintain their computer. Here is what I currently use, let me know if there are better options out there.

All-in-ones: TuneUp Utilities 2009 and Advanced SystemCare - I've been using TuneUp for a few years and recently found Advanced SystemCare which seems to do a good job. TuneUp also has a 'Shredder' which attached to the Recycle Bin enables for full deletion of whatever I put in. Both have a registry cleaner/defrag which I use.

Cleaning: CCleaner - you probably all already know this one, it cleans a lot of unnecessary files. I use this for my registry cleaner as well.

Defrag: SmartDefrag - it is part of Advanced SystemsCare and does a good job.

Anti-Virus/Spyware: Eset Smart Security - it is Nod32 with a built-in firewall amongst other minor tweaks.

Edited by Twisteds7

I use Tuneup and Advance SystemCare as well. Both do Cleaning and Defrag job for me.

Antivirus/Spyware : Norton Internet Security 2009.

NIS2009 improves a lot. Using even less resource than Eset NOD32. It has good detection rate. Their firewall is strong *seagate u noe*.

I use ....

All In One : Advanced SystemCare & Aslogics Pro.

Cleaning : As stated above for registry and junk files and may be CCleaner sometime

Defragment: Smart Defrag 1.03 & defragment software in aslogics

Anti-Virus/spyware: I use Spyware Doctor (no update due to invaild serial) to clean, however most of the time I turn it off.

On every system I have ever worked on Norton has always played a major factor in slowing said machine down. I have not used a recent (2 years) version of it though. I also have the same experience with McAffee. Has it changed a whole lot or have all of my experiences been a string of coincidences?