LaptopVideo2Go Forums

thermal paste on XPS 1530

boon

hey, guys

i want to reduce the temperature in my DEll XPS 1530, so i decided to apply tuniq TX-2 on the laptop. But i am a beginner to this thing, so i need some help from all of you.

1. I want to apply grease on the chip of the laptop, which method i should use on the laptop? Put a dot on the chip and use heatsink to rotate it? or i should the grease spread evenly on the chip using credit card and then screw the heatsink?

2. For those have experience on the XPS 1530 laptop, we know that there are three chips on the motherboard. One chip use thermal pad and two others using grease. So, i should apply the tuniq TX-2 on all of the chip? or just apply the new grease on the two chip use grease only?

3. How do i know the process i apply the grease on the chip is correct? I mean the grease i apply will work greatly on the chip? May i determine it is correct through the temperature?

4. Last question, how much degree celcius the temperature drop after apply the grease?

thank in advance for people who help me.

Look here, should clear things up for you. Was just researching the same thing, actually.

http://www.buildyourown.org.uk/forums/topi...?TOPIC_ID=21134

ok, after read the link you give me, i had general idea. But it doesn't answer my question 2,3 and 4.

Thank for provide the link.

Won't be able to tell you for sure. You can probably try google or wait for someone with a xps m1530 to reply.

hey, guys

i want to reduce the temperature in my DEll XPS 1530, so i decided to apply tuniq TX-2 on the laptop. But i am a beginner to this thing, so i need some help from all of you.

1. I want to apply grease on the chip of the laptop, which method i should use on the laptop? Put a dot on the chip and use heatsink to rotate it? or i should the grease spread evenly on the chip using credit card and then screw the heatsink?