LaptopVideo2Go Forums

FSC Amilo 1546 Graphics Card Upgrade

Guest Veanova

Guest Veanova

Hello everyone!

I am the unlucky owner of a Fujitsu Siemens Amilo Xi 1546. About half a year after I purchased it, it started overheating and crashing when doing just about anything. I returned it to my retailer, who kept it for two months or so (!) only to return it saying that they had fixed the problem by replacing a fan. Fair enough. Three days later, it starts crashing again.

It has been two years or so now where I have lazily done nothing, using the beast of a machine for little other than text editing and surfing. Not exactly what I had in mind when I shelled out for this beast of a machine, so I finally decided to do something about it. I've upgraded (and downgraded) the drivers, flashed the bios, formatted and installed XP Pro slipstreaming the SATA-drivers, replaced the thermal paste and the thermal tape. Now, I'm not a professional, but I've built my own computers since I was a kid and I'm absolutely certain I didn't mess anything up. This isn't exactly rocket science. It's still overheating.

Using Speedfan to monitor my temps, I'm getting idle temperatures going up and down between 60 and 70C degrees, but significantly lower for the GPU (30-40). Until I run anything on it. ANY load causes the temperature to spike to the point where it crashes (between 80 and 90C somewhere). I'm assuming the variations in idle temperature has to do with processes running in the background.

My LAST hope is that replacing the graphics card might help, as it's pretty clear that the GPU is the main problem here. I've read that a couple have done this successfully, but I haven't found any guides on it. Anyone able to help me out?

Where can I get a new graphics card for this thing, and is there anything else I need to know? Like I said, replacing it won't be a problem, but I've come to expect the worst with anything that has to do with this godawful piece of hardware.

Thank you