LaptopVideo2Go Forums

m8700 GT in former ATI fit AW M5790

mk46gunner

Well, I haven't been a member of the forum for very long, nor am I an IT guy. I do guns for a living, so forgive me up front and possibly give me some pointers on things I should either look for or cover in the future for what I'm discussing.

First, I have an Alienware, Area 51 M5790 that I ordered and received while I was on deployment in the sunny, sandy, uber-friendly, um, sandbox. While I'm aware it's not AW's top of the line model, I fit it as well as the options allowed at the time and tailored it for portable gaming, despite having to fit an ATI x1800 instead of getting my preferential nVidia hardware, I was mostly satisfied.

However, upon return home and the subsequent LANs and gaming in my barracks, the 3d rendering on the ATI card died soon, while oddly the 2d and multimedia I did were unaffected. However, I had already started to look for alternatives. Recently, one of my friends hooked me up with an extra m8700 GT from his older Aurora model and I figured all would be grand. I was sorely mistaken.

First off, I have the misfortune to have a wonderful, post-Dell-purchase Alienware bios.... no frills whatsoever. Next, it was hard to figure anything out with the high quality 4 bit graphics scheme my brick, err, laptop had developed. So, I hopped on the desktop and started perusing the net. I've searched high and low, found some pointers, but mostly noticed that nobody's really dealing with the m8700 series or the m5790 on most forums. Or, at least not doing the switch I did.

So, the gist of this is, I had a m5790 with a x1800 video card in it running windows vista home premium (32 bit), 2gb ddr2 667 MHz memory, and a 2.16 GHz T7400 processor running on an Intel 945 series board running a proprietary, crap-for-options bios (version 1.19).