LaptopVideo2Go Forums

OC'ing my 8600MGS + Rivatuner and its profiles

M00_cow

Hi all. Yes, I did open an account just to post, but I am a reader so please don't hate me.

Recently have been looking for a little more fire power from my GPU, the 8600MGS. I have the model with DDR2 sadly, and with my 1440x900 res, it fails pretty hardcore these days. So I installed Rivatuner and got straight to it.

Now, I am a noob in most respects when it comes to overclocking. I chucked up the core clock to 700, the shader clock to 1500 and the ram to 500, and got an increase in the CSS benchmarks of about ~25-30. The gpu sits on about 82-90 degrees celsius on load(Note, I do have it sitting off the table to create air flow, else the thing would implode)

My problem is, with Rivatuner and it's profiles. There are three, 2D standard, low power 3D and performance 3D. First and second options are unchangeable rendering the performance 3d profile the only one editable.

It is very good at choosing profiles for me. Will always choose performance 3D when I load up a game, but now, sometimes when I'm playing, mid way through and randomly, it will drop down to low power 3D, freezing the game until I alt tab, and alt tab again back into it, and also at the same time rendering the game unplayable as it drops down to... 300/600/200 from 700/1500/500. Furthering the annoyance, If I were to quit the game and get back in, it nothing will have changed. It will stay on low power 3D mode. Only way to resolve this issue is to reboot! It is really annoying and I can't find out how I can fix it. I don't even know what controls which profile is selected i.e. heat, processor load. I'm stumped.

Does anybody here have any ideas on how I can fix this?

**would also like to add that without Rivatuner, there is no problem.

M00

Edited by M00_cow

This is known as "downclocking." Such an occurrence usually signifies that your GPU's temp and/or clocks is/are too high. Drop it down a notch!