LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Driver for Nvidia GeForce 8400M GT - Win 7 32 bit - Sony Vaio

franticelectric

Hi everyone

I am a graphic design student and I have been having loads of problems with my driver for my nvidia geforce 8400M GT which means I can't run the software I need to run.

I have a Sony Vaio vgn-fz21m which came with vista 32 bit. 3 months ago I upgraded that to windows 7 32 bit version. That went all very smoothly untill recently. My laptop kept crashing because of a driver error from which it couldn't recover.

I have come across many people who've had this problem with vaio-nvidia-win7 but the only sollutions I found where for 64 bit pc's and I don't want to do a clean install just yet.

I have tried every driver there is, every modified driver there is, changed a whole lot of inf. files but nothing has worked.

I'm really puzzled why the driver I had (which was for vista 32 bit) suddenly just stopped working and now no other driver seems compatible. (my dad has vaio with win 7 and the 8400M GS and there are tons of working drivers for that one, why not for the GT, it's a far superior type!)

I really need some help because I'm way behind with my work.

thanks so much

Run devmgr.msc, expand Display adapters, double click or right click your video card and go to Properties, then the Details tab, click the drop down menu and select Hardware Ids and copy and paste your hardware id and paste it lets see if we can find the latest Windows 7 driver for your gfx card

I may soon get a VGN-AR870 soon and I think we may have the same exact card

Edited by ricktendo64

this is the ID:

PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0426&SUBSYS_9005104D&REV_A1

I've come across people with the same card and ID but as I said, they all ran win 7 64 bit and the solution doesn't work in my 32 bit.

I even entered the ID in the laptopvideo2go driver database and downloaded the matching driver, which worker for about 5 days and then it all crashed again.