LaptopVideo2Go Forums

GeForce 9600M GT in Alienware m5500i-R3

pizzathehut893

Hi,

I am now thinking of buying a nVidia GeForce 9600M GT 512MB DDR3 MXM II card for my Alienware m5500i-R3 laptop from ebay.

I'm sure that my computer has a MXM II slot so I think it will fit. I just have a few questions-

1) What games will I be able to play with this card?

2) Will I have any heating problems and if I do what can I do about them?

3) Will I need to do any BIOS changes and if so how do I do that?

If anyone knows any of these answers please help. I'm just a beginner at this so use as many details as possibe.

Thanks.

the card will fit but it has a 30SEC boot-up issue and the card stays on 3D Throttled clocks. and it will play the recent games at medium to high details.

Will I need to do anything concerning BIOS?

BTW this is the card I am looking to buy- Here

Will I need to do anything concerning BIOS?

BTW this is the card I am looking to buy- Here

I got a 9600M GT on my amilo pi1536 (same Hardware as your m5550)...

the alienware 1.19 and 2.07 will not work! so you will not be able to put more than 2g ram in your machine. the 30 sec boot delay could be solved with a little vbios mod - only 1 sec delay and no beep will remain and of course that the card could only operate in thrtl-mode at 3d...

you will have to modify your heatsink and put a copper shim or some high grade thermal compound between heatsink and gpu - i took the "high grade thermal material" from mxm-upgrade.com and i never got more than 90 degrees core temp! you asked for playing games... for example you could play crysis very smooth but only in medium settings - however very cool :)

so good luck for your replacement!

greetings from "good old germany", hope you understand my bad english :)

btw... the card you are looking for does not have the "screw nuts" to fix the heatsink! you will have to take these from your old card (they are soldered) or perhaps you could find some elsewhere