LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Hoping someone can help me - unable to find driver for 9600M GT on HP dv7

Temp1224512

Greetings!

Firstly, apologies for any gaffe, I'm a bit of a layman when it comes to these intricacies.

I'm not here to ask about the "best driver", just hoping someone can suggest drivers that are compatible with my setup, as I am having a hard time finding one.

Here's the situation: I have an 8 year old HP dv7-1250 with a 9600M GT GPU. It came pre-installed with Win7 x32 and ever since I first tried to upgrade my drivers about a year after I got it I could never find one that didn't crash, sometimes less, often terribly. I ended up settling for one from ~2010 at the time.

About 3 weeks ago I upgraded to Win8.1 x64 and it's been hell to find a suitable driver. The one on the HP website works (dated 2008), and I managed to find only one so far which works from the Verde Notebook series, 2010. This, amongst 40 or more I tested, using DDU and doing clean installs/manual installs. I have already asked for help at both the HP and Nvidia forums, as well as the Nvidia live support, to no avail. Drivers that seemed the most stable were ones for Win Vista/7 in the notebook series.

I'm looking for a driver which will simply allow me to play some more recent games more smoothly, like TSW or possibly even the Witcher 3 on ultra low specs, and I think this community is probably my last resort.

From what I gather from reading these forums, I might be able to get one running with an appropriate .inf file - or at least I hope.. Is there any version you might suggest, and would you be willing to clarify some doubts on how to install it?

If so, thank you in advance!

Here are details that might be relevant:

Laptop Model - Hp dv7-1250ep

BIOS update: F.2D (latest available)

GPU - 9600M GT  -  PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0649&SUBSYS_30F4103C&REV_A1

Current working driver - Verde 260.99 for win7/Vista x64  -  17.12.6099 16/10/20108