LaptopVideo2Go Forums

FX Go 5200 problem

Guest pb23r

Hello all...noob here on your excellent board so please be patient.

I have an i5150 with Go 5200 / 64 video board. I recently upgraded the driver via the Dell download site to 6.14.10.6610. Everything works except that in Win Media Player and Nero Showtime, the video image is dark...sort of greyed out. Is this a common problem with a simple solution?

I am generally not helpless with the computer but this issue beyond my modest knowledge. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!

pb23r

ontario, canada

Both Windows Media Player and Nero Showtime use your FX Go5200's hardware overlay feature to display their images. The overlay feature has separate brightness/contrast/saturation settings, which can be found in the nVidia Control Panel.

Dell's drivers use nVidia's standard overlay settings of 90% Contrast and 114% Color Saturation, which, unfortunately, don't work well on the 5150 and 5160. The reduced contrast is responsible for what you're seeing. (Many of us have reported this problem to Dell.)

You can adjust the overlay settings yourself, in the nVidia Control Panel, or you can use my INF, found here, which defaults to 100% for all overlay settings.

Thank you for replying so quickly!

Okay...if we can clarify a few procedural things, i will be on my way (and sure to visit this site often since there is such a wealth of experience and expertise).

What is the best way to use your INF? Do i need to download/unzip the latest NV driver (any recommended version ??), copy in your INF, UNinstall the existing driver (version 6.14.10.6610) via control panel, reboot, and then go about updating the driver? Or can i use your INF with my older driver? If so, how would i do that?

Sorry again 'bout the noob questions. This is a great learning experience...

Thanks!

pb23r

ontario, canada