LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Laptop w/ FX Go5600 woes

ephewe

Hey I have a question that maybe you experts can answer. I'm relatively new to the laptop world (I have a Sony Vaio PCG-GRT360Z with an FX Go5600 64 MB), so I am uninformed in some cases. I play Final Fantasy XI (FFXI) and the performance on this laptop is horrible. It seems with all drivers after the 55 series (I have tried just about all drivers from 45-70), there is an especially annoying graphical glitch where 3d models partially disappear. Check the picture below. You will notice the wolf's leg and nose are missing. Very strange. Wondering if maybe this is a known issue and/or maybe there is a setting I had not yet tried toggling? Also, I USED to play Unreal Tournament (the first one) ALL the time... My laptop ran the game just fine when I first got it, but now about every 2 seconds, the movement on the screen goes into what can only be described as "slow motion". The game is unplayable like this. I have tried formatting and retracing my updates and what not, even after a fresh format with all the default settings/drivers, the game still performs this way... Is it possible that my hardware could have changed in some way to cause this? Any input anyone may have would be extremely appreciated. Thank you.

post-7-11030207840_thumb.jpg