LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Newbie: Need Forceware to 6800GO - Which one?!!!!!

Guest BOYMBOY

Guest BOYMBOY

First, let me tell you that I'm really a rookie in these things. So bare with me.

I've got Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo M3438G laptop with PM750, nVIDIA 6800GO 256MB DDR1, 2GB of RAM, WinXP Home SP2, 17" WXGA+ screen and so on. I need to update my GPU-drivers, but I'm really confused as to which driver or Forceware I should get.

Most of my friends suggest I use Forceware 77.70 GO. I know this isn't the newest Forceware but it's for mobile GPUs (hence the GO) and, if I understood it correctly, does not require an 'INF' file because it's already for notebook-GPUs. Is this right?

Recently though I have found that many people use other Forceware such as 77.56, 77.77 or even 80.40. I've always thought that those are for dekstops only until some people adviced me that I can download this 'INF' file which makes them work with notebook-GPUs. However, I've also read the warnings that those 'beta-type' drivers might mess my notebook up. Of course the best way to handle things is to test different Forceware. However, I'd really like it if you guys cold just recommend me a Forceware.

So to sum up my preconceptions:

1) Forceware 77.70GO is a good Forceware and does not require an 'INF' file (because it's already for mobile-GPUs)

2) Other Forceware require an 'INF' file which makes the Forceware compatible with mobile-GPUs.

Oh, and one final question about the 'INF' files. No matter what driver I choose, should I always download the newest INF? For example, if I chose Forceware 77.77 should I donwload INF 30.78? Or should I get the 'INF' that is listed next to the Forceware driver?

Help me out! Please!

77.76 is a good driver. It is the latest official (beta) driver! It works great on my machine!

You should download the inf that is next to the driver to make things work!

Success!

Jeroen

BTW: nice laptop that you have there! :)

Guest BOYMBOY