LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Absolute newbe wondering whats wrong with my lappy

has33

Processor hangs & computer restarts.

Pls welcome me with a soln. It happens in most of d games...HF-2 (stage 2), Doom-3 (right in d begining after d scan), halo (near d end of d 1st level), FarCry (7th level "Tree house"), F.E.A.R (WHERE EVER IT FEELS LIKE) :) . Only game running fine is NFS U2. I tried a few diff. drivers...most didnt work...d 1s dat worked r 71.84 (preinstalled), 78.01 (Guru) & V74.00 (Acer site). But didnt solve my problem...Hoping its just a simple thing 4 D PROS out here... :) ...so...what say...what should I do???

Also guide me 2 thread or a link dat will teach me d trick 2 install d drivers on dis site...ThanQ ppl...will repay by kicking Ur butt on multiplayer

The driver in my sig should be sufficient.

It does sound like you might be having an overheating problem, but clean the dust off of your laptop, and try the 77.77 driver first.

Instructions are here.

Just download and unzip the driver, then replace the INF in the driver with the moddified INF and install using the device manager.

If it still does that try running the games with the laptop in the freezer or with a big fan nearby.

Thankx 4 d help...I did every thing U asked me 2 do (except d freezer part)...but d problem persists...it has 2 b something other dan overheating, cause 1. It hangs at mostly d same spots an d same game every time & 2. It happens even when I ve just started d comp which was kept at a temp of 22*C through d night. So some other suggestions please...Btw was wondering if I could (tecnically) CHANGE my 6600?64MB for a 6600GT/128MB VRAM???

• 2 weeks later...