LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Temporary lag

Guest PacManiac

Guest PacManiac

Hello all, I'm having some problems with my laptop.. I get a temporary lag for a second every 10 seconds or so. During this lag the frame rate in games goes down to 5-10fps and then goes back up straight away. When playing games it feels like it's loading but the problem appears when watching dvd's or avi's as well. It's really quite annoying and was wondering if anyone has come across something similar?

First I thought it was lack of memory as I'd only noticed it when playing BF2, but now with my 2 Gb RAM (tried various types of RAM as well) it's still there. I've tried a few different Forceware drivers for my Go 6800 Ultra, at the moment I'm running on 81.84 but the problem still exists.

I'm not sure what things could affect this as I'm no techie so not quite sure what info to provide you guys. Apart from the above I'm using Win XP, got a 160Gb raid 0 hd (would hardly matter?), sound card being some standard card but I've got a SB Audigy 2 as well, and the problem is there using either of the two sound cards.

Would really appreciate any help at all..

Thanks.

• 9 months later...

That could be because of the emense use of swap-file that BF2 need´s. Arround 1,4 GB. The way to work arround is to set it fix on one fix size.(ex. 2048) Why to do so? Windows is allway recallculating and reorganising ur swap file. That gives u the laggs. Set the start and end size to a fix number and this should improve ur gaming performance. On systems with fast HD it might be different and u will never have the same problem.

Try it ! It helped me a lot with BF2 !

Oh don´t be suprised this will cost u time on boot because windows has to creat the swap file.

Good luck

Edited by Greeny