LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Toshiba m200 Upgrade

defago

Alright, im a little confused by this site- im assuming you offer modded drivers to update laptop graphic chips.

Heres my ordeal, Im a 3D modeler and want to get a tablet so I can go to life drawing courses and do 3D sketches in zbrush.

Unfortunately, zbrush is complete ogl, realtime rendering millions of polys = need good graphics chip.

My question is would I be able to upgrade the standard Go5200 in that to say a Go1400 or 6800 ultra?

or if there's a physical size difference, rendering it impossible, what would be the highest I could upgrade to?

I can't find many connection/footprint specs on chips to decipher this, or if know if it would even work.

Obviously I can't carry a fan with me, but some form of cooling plate could be an option.

All help is greatly appreciated.

jd

Yikes a go6800Ultra in a tablet.

The battery would be flat the instant you turned it on.

So upgrading your go5200 is a definit NO, the GPU's are completely different in size shape and also bus.

The Quadro1400 and go6800 (Ultra) are PCI-e and the go5200 is AGP.

The go5200 is very much an entry level GPU even when it came out.

It won't cut the mustard with what your wanting to do at all.

You're going to have to go bigger in size and laptop with a Quadro or FireGL.

The fastest Quadro right now is the go1400, there is a Quadro 350M on the horizon based on the 7x00 series GPU's

There are also some other Mobile Quadro's that might come out.

It may pay to wait a little, even a laptop with a Quadro go1400 won't have a long battery life.

Good luck with your search :)

Thanks for the fast reply.

I figgured I was being a little idealistic, but hey- it was worth a shot.

Battery life isn't so important as I will normally be able to plug it in.

I've seen a motion computing tablet running zbrush quite efficiently- so Its not like I'm stuck if I can't get a great chip into it, 32megs just seems a little inefficient.