LaptopVideo2Go Forums

HELP overclocking go6600

Guest n4v1n

I've been trying to overclock the go6600 in my G25. But if I try to overclock with rivatuner or coolbits, the settings don't stick. I'm not an expert so I need your help. Anyone have any detailed instructions on how to acheive this? Thanks

I've got the same problem on my S3, same GPU. I imagine Toshiba have done something to lock the vbios.

If they have locked OCing out from the BIOS level it is probably for a good reason.

You would have to either hack your VBIOS or download a hacked VBIOS and flash it onto your card, both of those are pretty risky.

Unless someone here knows already how to hack the BIOS on your specific card, google should help you, as I am sure it has been done already.

I have searched and didn't find anything yet, but stuff should appear soon if this is indeed the problem.

I doubt it is a heat related thing on my S3, it runs surprisingly cool considering the spec.

Maybe Toshiba have just had problems recently with overclocked cards overheating and damaging the notebook, so have locked them altogether to prevent it happening any more.

It would be nice to get a little more out of it though, it *almost* does 1024x768 on med/low in BF2, just has the occasional glitch/freeze, would be nice to get it smooth on those settings. Failing that, can just wait for something to come out with a go7600/GT and order it though our toshiba spare parts acct :)

• 10 months later...
I doubt it is a heat related thing on my S3, it runs surprisingly cool considering the spec.

Maybe Toshiba have just had problems recently with overclocked cards overheating and damaging the notebook, so have locked them altogether to prevent it happening any more.