LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Trying to Update GPU driver.. Can't figure out which one

Paul Bender

Hi I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to doing Driver updates for a laptop (I mean I can do updates on a desktop computer but this is the first time I need to do a driver update on a laptop.

Anyway to cut to the chase, I have a Sharp Actius RD 10 computer with a P4 Proccessor 512 K or ram and a Geforce 4 420 M32 GPU, and i am wondeirng what the latest version of a driver I can look for. (I've tried to install some of the drivers (such as the 84.xx series) and am from time to time having an odd looking white screen..(I've also tried to go back to the 6x.xx series) and also am having no luck.. :)

Just wondering what Drivers would be appropriate for this upgrade.. (According to what i had on Nerd, the last version I had was the 61.xx series driver (61.31 I believe..)

are their any other drivers out there that would work? (I'm also trying to run "The Sims 2" (Which uses Direct x9.0c and in fact until I uninstalled the Drivers it was working slightly below nominal specs..

anyway if there is any idea of what dirvers I should use for this Could someone please tell me which one is the correct one to use? Please and thank you..

Paul Bender

I say give 71.89 or 77.77 a try.

I say give 71.89 or 77.77 a try.

77.77 - Tried to install told me to stop installation (but went ahead with the installation (Got the "White Screen of Death "(the screen turns white and graphics are poor..) Had to uninstall .. :) (and yes I did install the .inf file so it would work).

71.89 -- haven't tried to install that one yet.,. will give that a try..

Paul Bender

77.77 - Tried to install told me to stop installation (but went ahead with the installation (Got the "White Screen of Death "(the screen turns white and graphics are poor..) Had to uninstall .. :) (and yes I did install the .inf file so it would work).

71.89 -- haven't tried to install that one yet.,. will give that a try..

Paul Bender