LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Which laptop to choose?

TjizZzuH

Hello,

Because my recent laptop (Medion MD6100 [2.6 GHz, 512 Mb RAM, 40 Gb HD, GF4 488 Go]) is beginning to be a little slow, I've decided to buy a new one.

Since I'm a student and I dont have to spend a lot of money, my budget is about 900 euro's.

After some researce, I found 2 laptops which may be my next one:

1. HP Pavilion DV6132
  2. ASUS A6KM-Q082H

The main difference between the two are the:

• Graphics card: GF Go 6150 with 128 Mb shared memory (HP) vs. GF Go 7300 with 256 Mb memory (ASUS)
  • Processor: AMD Turion 64 X2 processor TL-50 Dual Core 1.6 GHz (HP) vs. Mobile AMD Turion 64 1.8 GHz (ASUS)

Because I don't know much about graphics cards & processors, I don't know which laptop is better one.

Thanks in advance for the reactions.

//EDIT//

I probably will use my laptop mostly for school (Office, simulations, etc), playing DVD's & playing games (GTA San Andreas, NFS Underground/Most Wanted/Carbon etc)

Greetz,

Tjisse

Edited by TjizZzuH

First off, HP isn't known for its reliability... The quality isn't really there.

But the main thing is the video card. The 6150 is slooooooow compared to anything else out there (except maybe the 6100). The 7300 isn't a bad card by any means, but the performance isn't going to blow you away or anything.

of the two, I'd say go for the ASUS.

I've had my HP Notebook for 2 years. It fried 2 5700 video cards in a year and a month. for the last year and a month i've had a 5600 and its worked like a charm. the rest of the laptop is solid except for the dvd drive which is on the slower side. It burns and plays well, so its ok.

With your needs and budget... I would go for the Dell Inspiron 6400.

The popular series of Dell ease the quest for spare parts when needed.

Dell = Cheap build parts (not slowed down) but huge support base in forums and actual Dell support website.