LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Drivers for 256 MB GeForce Go 7300

dfree86

Hi all,

Nvidia hasn't put out a driver update for my GeForce Go 7300 in ages, so I'm looking to update my Forceware to maximize my performance on games, and in general. (I'm thinking Oblivion, but that might be a bit ambitious given my specs). Anyhow, I've never tried to update my Drivers before, and I'm new to the modded INF thing, though I've read up on it extensively and understand it in principle. Here are my system Specs:

Dell Inspiron E1505

Windows XP (SP2), Media Center Edition 2005

Intel Core 2 Duo T2050 @ 1.60 GHz/533MHz

1GB System RAM

256 MB GeForce Go 7300

Forceware Version (at present): 84.29

I'm looking to get the most out of my card and having read extensively on the boards and the site, I'm currently debating between the 84.69 and 163.15 driver updates. According to the recommended drivers chart, 84.69 is optimal for Geforce Go 7xxx cards, so that looks good. Then again, the 163.15 is a much newer update and people who've installed it seem to have had a lot of luck with it. I downloaded them both last night and am just looking for some feedback on which one (or another entirely) might serve me well. I tried to install one of them and stuffed it up, so I just have a couple questions about the Driver installation process as well.