LaptopVideo2Go Forums

"nvlddmkm Display driver stopped responding and has recovered."

BigJerm

Alright, I realize a lot of people here are having this problem, and I searched the forum and couldn't find a centralized thread concerning this extremely annoying problem. So I started to experience this somewhat recently when I started playing the Orange Box. Periodically, with no pattern at all, Team Fortress 2, or even Episode 2 will lock up. It takes about 20 seconds for the driver to recover, and once it does it's back to normal withing a couple of more seconds. This problem is quite annoying, especially when playing TF2.

I have been searching Google in hopes of finding some miracle cure, but I have so far found the same thing, over and over.

"1. Control Panel=>Windows Update=>Change Settings=>"Download updates but let me choose whether to install them".

2. Download the latest driver from the nvidia website. http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp

3. Go to Device Manager, select your display adaptor, and uninstall it, choose to also delete drivers when prompted.

4. Reboot computer into safe mode by pressing f8 when the computer boots, when prompted to install new display driver choose "never install a driver for this device"

5. Navigate to c:\windows\system32\drivers\ and rename the file nvlddmkm.sys to nvlddmkm_old.sys. Take note of the date of this file

6. Navigate to c:\windows\system32 and rename any other file of the same date as nvlddmkm.sys which begins with the letters 'nv'

**ADDED FOR CLARITY***

For examples:

nvcplui.exe become nvcplui_old.exe

nvd3dumx.dll becomes nvd3dumx_old.exe

etc..etc..etc..Repeat for all files with the same date as the file you found in step 5, they begin with the letters 'nv'

If it is too tedious to rename all the files, you can simply delete them, or move them to a different folder.

6a. For 64bit Vista, repeat step 6 in c:\windows\sysWOW64