LaptopVideo2Go Forums

Laptop overheating

Guest ToxicGen

Guest ToxicGen

Hello all. I've been playing games for like 2 months now on this new laptop.

Specs:

----------------------

Acer Aspire 7520G

----------------------

AMD Turion 64 x2 TL-62 2.1GHz

NVidia GeForce 8400m G (Yes I know it's bad but it still performs pretty well if you tweak the game you want to play)

3GB DDR2 Ram

Now quite recently my laptop started overheating during gaming (After 10minutes of gameplay). Fan makes VERRY loud noise and frames per second drop from 60 to 15. As you can imagine, if that encounters during a firefight you get owned.

After this kept happening I checked the temps and they were pretty high.

I think the main problem is the "ACPI" (God knows what that is?..). It reaches up to 93°C. Along with that my CPU climbs up to 80-90°C. And my GPU is always 70'ish.

So I did what everyone would do, I opened up this laptop and cleaned the fan, but there was almost no dust in it. I put the cover back on but nothing changed..

Can anyone help me with this?

I got the same problem!

everytime i play a game, in 15 min, my laptop starts to make a high sound, peeep ;p.

and my fps decreases to 15-20. when i bought it in 2008 oktober it didnt make a sound when i played for like 1 day straight assassin's creed on Medium settings

and now it makes a sound with counter strike source on lowest settings.

i opened my laptop and tried cleaning it up, even though there wasnt any dust in it.

i got an Acer aspire 7520G<<< same laptop as above except different hardware.

AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-64 (2 CPUs), ~2.2GHz

3070MB RAM

NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GS

windows vista

hope someone can help0.0

Guest ToxicGen
I got the same problem!

everytime i play a game, in 15 min, my laptop starts to make a high sound, peeep ;p.

and my fps decreases to 15-20. when i bought it in 2008 oktober it didnt make a sound when i played for like 1 day straight assassin's creed on Medium settings